Skip to content

Brown Receives “Trade Hero” Award | U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio

Brown Receives “Trade Hero” Award | U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) received the “Trade Hero” award from the...

Table of Contents

U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown Receives "Trade Hero" Award for Advocating Pro-American Trade Policy

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) was honored with the "Trade Hero" award by the Coalition for a Prosperous America for his commitment to prioritizing American workers in trade policy. Brown emphasized the importance of enacting trade policies that benefit American workers and industry, combat China's trade cheating, and promote American innovation. The Coalition for a Prosperous America, a national non-profit organization representing domestic producers, presented Brown with the award at its annual conference.

During his acceptance speech, Brown urged for strong trade enforcement and preemptive action against economic threats, particularly from China. He has been a leading voice in the U.S. Senate, advocating for a pro-worker trade policy and pushing the Biden Administration to address China's unfair trade practices.

Brown has led efforts to maintain or increase tariffs against China, ban Chinese electric vehicles and smart vehicle technology, hold China accountable for unfair trade practices in the solar industry, investigate China's unfair trade practices in shipbuilding, and close loopholes that foreign competitors exploit to unfairly compete with American businesses.

Additionally, Brown successfully pushed the Biden Administration to remove the trade pillar from the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework and is fighting to pass bipartisan legislation to strengthen U.S. trade remedy laws. He has also introduced the Leveling the Playing Field 2.0 Act, which aims to strengthen U.S. trade law enforcement and empower American manufacturers to take action against bad actors engaging in customs fraud.

Brown's efforts have been recognized for their dedication to promoting a trade policy that puts American workers first and takes a strong stance against unfair trade practices.